Student of The Year

Browse chapters by location

The Word:


Student of The Year

Student of the Year Logo

Thank you to our sponsors!!

Citizen Award Sponsor


Junior Sponsor

Sheehy Auto Stores

Sophomore Sponsor

SunDun Office Refreshments

Freshman Sponsors

AMG Communications


Red Peg Marketing

Student of the Year Campaign is a six-week initiative in which nominated local high school students enrolled in public or private schools participate in a fundraising competition to benefit the National Capital Area Chapter of The Leukemia & Lymphoma Society (LLS).

The campaign began on January 15, 2015 and will culminate with the Grand Finale Gala on Saturday, February 28, 2015 at the J.W. Marriott in Washington, D.C. The Student of the Year 2015 Class is comprised of 13 candidates/candidate teams. 

Each candidate/candidate team is asked to take on the challenge of raising a minimum of $10,000 and join the fight against blood cancers. The candidate/candidate team raising the most funds will receive a $5,000 scholarship to the school or university of their choice. Every candidate who reaches the minimum fundraising requirement will receive a $1,000 scholarship. Students will also have a chance to compete for the Citizenship Award Scholarships.

Students rally their communities, schools, and families to support their fundraising efforts. Along with their own websites, students will work with LLS staff to set a fundraising goal and to develop an action plan to reach that goal. We will provide fundraising materials and support throughout the campaign. The easiest ways to fundraise are through a letter writing/email campaign and social networking; however, each candidate and their team will brainstorm with LLS to determine a plan for success that could include sponsorship, table sales, program ad sales, and events. 

For a detailed information packet, click here.

Interested in participating in the Student of the Year campaign? Candidates must submit an application to be considered by the campaign's selection committee.  Applications for the 2016 Student of the Year campaign will open in Summer 2015.  In the meantime, please visit our Student of the Year Facebook page to learn more about the work of our 2015 candidates.

For more information on Student of the Year, please contact Kelly Kent at or 703.399.2930

All donations are greatly appreciated and are tax deductible. They'll not only support LLS research but patient services, advocacy, public and professional education, and community services as well.

For more information on LLS, visit

The Leukemia %26 Lymphoma Society

Advocate Alerts

last updated on Tuesday, February 17, 2015