National Capital Area Chapter

Browse chapters by location

The Word:


Hematology/Oncology Nurse of the Year Award

2014 Oncology Nurse of the Year
Congratulations Michelle Caycedo!


The National Capital Area Chapter of The Leukemia & Lymphoma Society (LLS) is pleased to name Michelle Caycedo, RN as the 2014 Hematology/Oncology Nurse of the Year. Michelle is an Infusion Nurse in the Medical Oncoogy Unit at Inova Mount Vernon Hospital in Alexandria, VA. Michelle is most deserving of the prestigious Nurse of the Year title and officially accepted her award at a celebratory luncheon (pictured above) on May 8 at Inova Mount Vernon Hospital. The Leukemia & Lymphoma Society's National Capital Area  Chapter also recognizes first runner-up Frances Gaitlin of Washington Oncology Hematology Center.


The Nurse of the Year award began ten years ago and was started because of a desire to acknowledge nurses that make a difference in the treatment of patients and are at the forefront of patient care.  Patients, family members, professional colleagues, physicians and nurses may nominate their favorite oncology nurse.


Nomination Requirements:

  • Currently employed as a registered nurse with exceptional practice and experience caring for people with blood cancers.
  • Have two or more years experience in oncology nursing and caring of blood cancer patients.
  • Live or work in the Metropolitan Washington, DC area
  • Is not a board member of The Leukemia & Lymphoma Society

The winner will receive a $500 scholarship towards a professional conference of their choice, two tickets to the 2015 Leukemia Ball or Man/Woman of the Year Gala with limo service provided by Fleet Transportation, a spa package from a local day spa, an office luncheon, and much more.

An individual nominated in a previous year may be nominated again unless he or she has previously won this award. 


To nominate a candidate click here

To nominate a nurse for 2015 honors or for more information, please contact Hunter Gunn at or 703.399.2959.

Previous Nurse of the Year Winners

2013 Oncology Nurse of the Year

Eric Cohen

NOY 2013 Eric Small 2

2012 Oncology Nurse of the Year

Christina Urso

NOY2012Christina Urzo

2011 Oncology Nurse of the Year

Katarina Steacy

Dr. Sadak and Katarania

2010 Oncology Nurse of the Year

Kathleen Russell


last updated on Tuesday, July 29, 2014